Membership types and qualifications



  • A.  Regular:  Any person eighteen years of age or older who is presently actively engaged in installing and servicing locksets and related security hardware, with a minimum of two years experience, and deriving income from this business servicing the public in the locksmith / security field.
  • B.  Junior Apprentice:  Any person who is at least twelve years of age but not yet eighteen years of age, presently studying the  locksmith trade under an active regular member.
  • C.  Associate:  Any locksmith, locksmith supply salesman or security industry factory representative.
          1. Associate members may not hold office or vote.

  • Dues:

Dues are $220.00 per year which will be pro-rated depending on the month you join.

Applications for membership can be obtained from the N.C.L.A. A ssociation Secretary(E-mail Link) or Downloaded from the links below.

Sponsors may submit a completed application package to the membership committee no later than 30 days prior to the meeting at which the applicant wishes their application to be considered.

  • Application package must include the following:
  1. $10 application fee must be included.
  2. A Criminal Records Check from all jurisdictions you have resided in for the last 5 years.  Criminal records check is waived for junior membership.
  3. A photocopy of a valid state Locksmith License or proof that you are practicing locksmithing.
  4. A photograph 3" x 3", Head & Shoulders, made within (30) thirty days of application.
  5. Return Application Form To:
    Jeanette Busse,
     1009 Portico Place , Raleigh, NC 27603

Download one page Application for Membership (Adobe PDF File)

Download Application for Associate Membership (Adobe PDF File)




President: Paul Atkinson

First Vice President: Shane Ellison

Second Vice President: Rafe Rountree

Treasurer: Jennifer Richards

Assistant Treasurer: Jeanette Busse

Sergeant At Arms: David Moore

Assistant Sergeant At Arms: Joseph Ham

Secretary: Debbie Derruisseaux

Board Members

Lawrence Campbell  2016-2018

Reid Skinner  2016-2018

Steve Stroud  2015-2017

Roy Young  2015-2017

Johnny Hefner  2014-2016

Steve Bright  2014-2016

Life Members  

D.W. Dowless
Laura Busse
Bessie Mae Stewart
Walt Shrum
Steve Bright.
Reid Skinner
Ralph "Skip" Resch

Paul Atkinson

Granger Marley
Billy Marshall, Sr
Adrian Busse
Gwyn Campbell
Jeanette Busse
Dick Boynton
D.J. Mccormick, Jr.
Jerry Lewis

Honorary Members

Betty Lewis
Mackey McCormick

Chris Bernard
Ruth Estridge
Vera Beaver